I am burly girl

bur·ly  Adjective: (of a person) Large and strong; heavily built.

Saturday I helped my father move into an Adult Family Home — smaller and less institutional setting than a nursing home, but still with 24-hour caregivers.  The home is at the top of a long, steep driveway.  How long?  You could easily park 3 cars, one behind the other. Possibly four cars.  We are talking serious hill here.  My dad also has a dresser with a dozen drawers, approximately 60 inches wide, 40 inches high, and 18 inches deep.

My husband and I carried it up the driveway.

It’s not the greatest feat of strength in the world, but it’s one I haven’t always been capable of performing.  But I did it, and I’m pleased.  I also helped my dad get in and out of the car multiple times, pushed his wheelchair, and stayed calm and positive through it all.

I don’t exercise specifically so I can carry dressers up hills.  But it’s nice to be able to do so.

10 thoughts on “I am burly girl

  1. Yay! People are generally surprised that I am strong, although I look burly enough! But when exertion-induced asthma hits out of the blue it makes me look like a stereotypical unfit fatty!

    I hope your dad likes the new place.

  2. I love it when you realize something is easier or not an issue any longer. Like, “Wow! Look what I did!” love it! Thank you for sharing your story and I hope your father’s transition is smooth and comforting. =0)

  3. It’s the little things too that get me all excited when I’m improving my health and strength, like being able to balance on one foot while I flush with the other in a public restroom. Yay balance!

    Congrats! And good luck to your father.

Leave a Reply

