Feeling Better

I caught up on sleep over the weekend.  This is good thing, since I turn into a bear of very little patience when I don’t have enough.  ;)

I also realized yesterday that I’ve gone days without taking ibuprofen for my leg.  I passed “Not hurting all the time” a little over a week ago and now I’m at “not hurting unless I misstep / walk to fast”.   This is also a good thing.

Finally, last night I was able to do 20 each of:

…for both legs.  Plus 15 elbow-to-knee raises on each side and some back extensions.  Three weeks ago I had trouble doing any lifts with my left leg, so this is a goodness.

Today I walked a quarter-mile loop around the office park where I work.  It was pain-free for the first 2/3rds of it — stepped wrong, it hurt, recovered, and continued back to my office and rewarded myself with diet Pepsi.  :)

One thing I realized this fall: I thought that increasing my walking meant I could let the strength training slide.   I was wrong.  Looks like I need to figure out how to make exercise a habit, because I’m tired of re-injuring myself!

4 thoughts on “Feeling Better

  1. Hello from a fellow ~400lber!

    I am at the point where I am realizing I have to fit more walking into my life to keep from injuring myself as well. Right now my right rotator cuff is very stiff, and I did something to my right knee. I kind of have to fight my brain’s response to exercise, which is “WE’RE NOT DIETING!”, since the two were always linked. :) Thank you so much for the stretches, I will try those for my knee especially.

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday « Living ~400lbs

  3. Elle, I’m very much in the same boat. I’ve been prompting myself to workout because I know it does make me feel better, but I keep reminding myself it’s not to lose weight. Though I’m obviously not as accepting as I hope to be someday because I still kind of hope I lose some weight, but it’s okay if I don’t. I’m doing the best I can.

Leave a Reply

