Some Things Worth Reading

Suethsayings summarized the research on long-term weight loss surgery results.

Bree at Life on FATS asks if anyone’s been refused entrance to a nightclub for being fat.  (I replied over there but thought I’d try “boosting the signal” ;)

Anyone thinking of doing NaNoWriMo?  I’ve done it in the past, but not this year.

Naafa quoted USA Today on flying while big — or tall!  Kudos to the reporter who realized that it’s not just fat people who don’t fit in airline seats but tall ones too.

Cordy at Scattered Marbles posted a paper she wrote on Media and the Obesity “Crisis” and some cool fat-positive art like:

…and in a totally off-topic moment, the everyday life of Darth Vader.

10 thoughts on “Some Things Worth Reading

  1. cross-posted signal-boosting:
    I have never been refused entrance, but I did confuse the hell out of a bouncer a few years back. There was a lingerie party at a local club, so my guy friend and I got dolled up, and I wore a skirt so as not to offend the masses. We went through the ID Check, and he goes, “Uh, it is a lingerie night down there.” I flashed him my garter belt strap and said “I know”.

  2. NaNoWriMo for the win! It’s my fourth year novelling, and my first as a municipal liason. My story is about a culinary student, aliens, and odd food.

    And that picture is absolutely gorgeous. I can’t stop staring.

  3. I did NaNo last year and I desperately want to do it again this year but a) I am in grad school full-time and I have a full-time job too and b) I don’t have an idea.

  4. I did Nanowrimo a couple years ago, and might actually be close to sumitting the heavily edited results to an actual agent.

    I have a week to decide if I want to do it again this year–it was so much fun! And it really gets the writing juices going . . . but I have this nagging suspicion that if I add one more thing to my task list, my head will explode . . .

  5. Pingback: Living400lbs: Monthly Roundup « Living ~400lbs

Leave a Reply

